Fill in your email address to obtain the download verification code.
Enter the verification code
Please fill the fields below, & share with us the article's link and/or upload it:
upload file as pdf, doc, docx
SKeyes Center for Media and Cultural Freedom - Samir Kassir Foundation

News Outlets Express Solidarity with Journalists in Gaza

Thursday , 29 February 2024
Photo credit: Reuters

Dozens of news organization leaders from across the world, including the Associated Press, Agence France-Presse, and Reuters, have joined an open letter affirming their solidarity with journalists reporting in Gaza.

The letter, coordinated by the Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ) with the support of the World Association of News Publishers (WAN-IFRA), demonstrates strong and unified support for colleagues reporting from Gaza in the deadliest conflict for journalists ever documented by CPJ.


The letter goes on to remind the international community that journalists are civilians and authorities must protect journalists as noncombatants according to international law. 

The signatories include outlets from Estonia, France, Germany, Ireland, Israel, India, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Lebanon, Mexico, Pakistan, the Philippines, Qatar, South Africa, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

Additional signatories are welcome. Please contact to add your news organization, including name of signatory, title, and name of organization.

Open letter on journalists in Gaza 

We, the undersigned, stand united with Palestinian journalists in their call for safety, protection, and the freedom to report.

For nearly five months, journalists and media workers in Gaza – overwhelmingly, the sole source of on-the-ground reporting from within the Palestinian territory – have been working in unprecedented conditions: at least 89 have been killed in the war, according to the Committee to Protect Journalists, more journalists than have ever been killed in a single country over an entire year.

These journalists – on whom the international news media and the international community rely  for information about the situation inside Gaza – continue to report despite grave personal risk. They continue despite the loss of family, friends, and colleagues, the destruction of homes and offices, constant displacement, communications blackouts, and shortages of food and fuel.  

Journalists are civilians and Israeli authorities must protect journalists as noncombatants according to international law. Those responsible for any violations of that longstanding protection should be held accountable. Attacks on journalists are also attacks on truth. We commit to championing the safety of journalists in Gaza, which is fundamental for the protection of press freedom everywhere.


  1. Kim Godwin, President, ABC NEWS
  2. Phil Chetwynd, Global News Director, Agence France-Presse
  3. Hossam Kanafani, Editor in Chief, Al-Araby Al-Jadeed
  4. Nora Younis, Founder and Editor-in-Chief, Al-Manassa, Egypt
  5. Alaa al Ghatrevy, Editor in Chief, Al Masry Al Youm, Egypt
  6. Ghassan Hajjar, Managing Editor, An-Nahar, Lebanon
  7. Rawan Damen, Director General, ARIJ (Arab Reporters for Investigative Journalism)
  8. Stefano Corradino, Director, Articolo21, Italy
  9. Shiro Nakamura, President, The Asahi Shimbun, Japan
  10. Nicole Dungca, President, Asian American Journalists Association, United States
  11. Julie Pace, Executive Editor, Associated Press
  12. Simon Spanswick, Chief Executive, Association for International Broadcasting
  13. Nancy Prager-Kamel, Chairperson, Association of Foreign Press Correspondents, United States 
  14. Deborah Turness, CEO, BBC News
  15. Hikmet Adal, Editor, Bianet, Turkey
  16.  Ingrid Ciprián-Matthews, President, CBS News 
  17. Mark Thompson, Chairman and CEO, CNN Worldwide
  18. Daoud Kuttab, Director General, Community Media Network, Jordan
  19. Branko Brkic, Editor in Chief, Daily Maverick, South Africa
  20. Alia Ibrahim, Co-founder and CEO, Daraj, Lebanon
  21. Dirk Kurbjuweit, Editor in Chief, Der Spiegel, Germany
  22. Barbara Junge, Editor in Chief, Die Tageszeitung, Germany
  23. Ulrike Winkelmann, Editor in Chief, Die Tageszeitung, Germany
  24. Khaled Elbalshy, President, Egyptian Journalists Syndicate 
  25. Mohamed Saad Abdel Hafiz, Egyptian Journalists Syndicate / Managing Editor, Al-Shorouk, Egypt
  26. Patrick Mayoyo, Director Editorial Innovations, Eyewitness Africa, Kenya
  27. Roula Khalaf, Editor, Financial Times, UK
  28. Laurent Richard, Founder and Executive Director, Forbidden Stories, France
  29. Giuseppe Di Maula, Editor in Chief, FotosIntensi, Italy
  30. Laurie Hays, Editor in Chief/CEO, The Fuller Project
  31. Katharine Viner, Editor in Chief, The Guardian, UK
  32. Julia Montfort, Editor in Chief, Guiti News, France
  33. Aluf Benn, Editor in Chief, Haaretz
  34. Marc Saikali, Chairperson, Ici Beyrouth and This is Beirut, Lebanon
  35. Geordie Grieg, Editor in Chief, The Independent, UK
  36. Elena Cosentino, Director, International News Safety Institute, UK
  37. Sandy Prieto-Romualdez, Chairperson, Inquirer Group of Companies, Philippines
  38. Deirdre Veldon, Managing Director, The Irish Times, Ireland
  39. Rachel Corp, Chief Executive, ITN, UK
  40. Andrew Dagnell, Editor, ITV News, UK
  41. Amir Rotem, Editor in Chief, Local Call
  42. Terry Tang, Interim Executive Editor, Los Angeles Times
  43. Mohammed Al-Fazari, CEO and Editor in Chief, Muwatin Media Network  
  44. Rameeza Nizami, Managing Director, Nawaiwaqt Group, Pakistan
  45. Pamella Sittoni, Group Managing Editor, Nation Media Group, Kenya
  46. Yvette Cabrera, President, National Association of Hispanic Journalists, United States 
  47. Rebecca Blumenstein, President, Editorial, NBC News
  48. Ebele Okobi, CEO, The New Humanitarian
  49. David Remnick, Editor, The New Yorker 
  50. AG Sulzberger, Publisher, The New York Times 
  51. Edith Chapin, SVP and Editor in Chief, NPR, United States
  52. Maha Al Bahnasawi, Managing Director, ONA Media Services, Egypt
  53. Martha Ramos, President, World Editors Forum / Chief Editorial Officer, Organización Editorial Mexicana, Mexico
  54. Amalie Kestler, Managing Editor in Chief, Politiken, Denmark
  55. Hans Väre, Editor in Chief, Postimees Grupp, Estonia
  56. Alan Rusbridger, Editor, Prospect magazine, UK
  57. Lara Bitar, Editor in Chief, The Public Source, Lebanon
  58. Ritu Kapur, CEO, The Quint, India
  59. Maria Ressa, CEO and Co-Founder, Rappler, Philippines
  60. Alessandra Galloni, Editor in Chief, Reuters, UK
  61. Ayman Mhanna, Executive Director, Samir Kassir Foundation, Lebanon
  62. Kamal Siriwardana, Editor in Chief, SMN24Media, Sri Lanka
  63. Nwabisa Makunga, Editor in Chief, The Sowetan, South Africa
  64. Ramsey G. Tesdell, CEO, Sowt Media, Jordan
  65. Esther Ng, Chief Content Officer, Star Media Group Berhad, Malaysia
  66. Wolfgang Krach, Editor in Chief, Süddeutsche Zeitung, Germany
  67. Wafaa Haidar, Director, Tele Liban, Lebanon  
  68. Anne Marie Owens, Editor in Chief, Toronto Star, Canada
  69. Lyas Hallas, Co-founder and CEO, Twala, Algeria
  70. Fernando Belzunce, Editorial Director, Vocento, Spain
  71. Assaad Maroun, Chairperson and General Manager, Voice of Lebanon
  72. Sally Buzbee, Executive Editor, The Washington Post
  73. Vincent Peyrègne, CEO, World Association of News Publishers (WAN-IFRA)
  74. Ghousoon Bisharat, Editor in Chief, +972 Magazine

Share News